Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

About the Nevada Supreme Court Law Library

Welcome to the Law Library! Learn all about our resources and services, and we hope to see you in the library one day.

Overview of our Print Collection

The Nevada Supreme Court Law Library has over 100,000 volumes or volume equivalents consisting of primary and secondary authority. The Law Library’s most comprehensive collection focuses on Nevada law. The Library has current and archival collections of all state statutes and case law, as well as a core collection of treatises. The Law Library also has a rare book room containing very old books from the United States (including pre-statehood materials) as well as international materials.

 

The Southwest section of the Library contains the Treatise Collection

The Southwest section of the Library contains the Treatise Collection

 

To the left of our Reference Desk, you can find our collection of Regional and Federal Reporters

To the left of our Reference Desk, you can find our collection of Regional and Federal Reporters

 

Library Catalog

The NSCLL has an online catalog to assist you in locating specific books in our collection. The catalog is also helpful in identifying Lexis Digital Library e-books and electronic resources available in HeinOnline, PLI Plus, and Cheetah (access to these latter resources is limited to in-library use only).

  • You can search by title, author, or keyword. 

Microfilm & Microfiche Collection

A large part of the NSCLL's collection is available in microfilm or microfiche format.

Microfilm

The Law Library houses a collection of microfilm for the Nevada Supreme Court Clerk's office, which covers court cases from 1 - 34561. Documents included on microfilm include case opinions, briefs, and exhibits. Many of the cases on film are not currently digitized through the Nevada Supreme Court Case Management system. Please ask a staff member at the Reference Desk for assistance. 

Microfiche

The Law Library also maintains a collection of microfiche. The microfiche contains bill histories, committee minutes and exhibits from the Nevada Legislative sessions from 1965 - 2005. The microfiche is separated by year (sessions run every odd year with possible special sessions in between) and are then arranged alphabetically by Assembly and Senate committees. 

If you would like documents that may be on microfilm or microfiche, please contact the NSC Law Library by email at reference@nvcourts.nv.gov or by phone at 775-684-1640 and a staff member will be available to pull the requested film or fiche for you for use in the Law Library.

Law Library staff members can scan and email documents of 10 pages (double-sided) if you provide specific information for what you are looking for. For larger requests, the Law Library will charge a research and printing fee of $0.25 per page for microfilm/microfiche document delivery requests. 

The microfilm/microfiche reader is free to access and use in the Law Library. Please ask a staff member at the Reference Desk for assistance in how to use the machine. 

Self-Help Collection

The Law Library maintains a collection of self-help materials for patrons who are navigating the legal system on their own.

Resources that the Law Library provides include:

  • NOLO's "do-it-yourself" publications that provide plain English explanations of legal processes and procedures. The NOLO series also includes sample legal forms for patrons to copy and use for their own legal matters.

Self-help books

  • Bankruptcy
  • Clients’ Security Fund
  • Coming of Age in Nevada and the Coming of Age 2004 Supplement – Publications from the Young Lawyers Section of the state bar
  • Divorce
  • DUI
  • Fee Dispute Arbitration
  • Filing a Homestead Declaration
  • How Lawyers Charge
  • Immigration
  • Juvenile Law
  • Attorney Discipline
  • Lawyer Referral Service
  • Legal Resources Directory
  • Medical Malpractice
  • Power of Attorney Forms
  • Probate and Administration of Estates
  • Real Estate Escrows and Title Insurance
  • Termination of Parental Rights Booklet – Produced by the Office of the Clark County Special Public Defender Family Defense Project

Estos folletos también están disponibles en español.:

  • Bancarrota
  • Securidad de Fondos del Cliente
  • Divorcio
  • DUI
  • Disputa de Honorarios
  • Presentando una Declaración de Bienes Familiares
  • Como Cobran los Abogados
  • Inmigración
  • Ley Criminal Juvenil
  • Disciplina de Abogados
  • LRIS
  • Validacion de Testamento y Administración de Herencia
  • Bienes Raíces y Seguro de Títulos