- Nevada Supreme Court Law Library
- All Categories
- Room 102
- Room 103
- Room 107
The Nevada Access to Justice Commission helps people find legal services in Nevada. They made a directory with contact information for legal services around the state. The Lawyer Referral Service can help you find a lawyer for your case. There are also legal aid services that give free or low-cost help to people who don’t have a lot of money. There are also self-help centers and resources for veterans, which give information and support to people who need legal help but don’t have a lawyer.
Nevada Access to Justice Commis
sion
The Nevada Supreme Court Commission on Access to Justice was started by Nevada Supreme Court Rule 15 (SCR 15). The Access to Justice Commission works to make it easier for people in Nevada to get legal help.
Nevada Legal Resources Directory was created by the Nevada Access for Justice Commission and the Nevada State Bar and includes contact information for legal services organizations throughout the state of Nevada.
State Bar of Nevada: Lawyer Referral & Information Service (LRS)
The Lawyer Referral and Information Service (LRS) is a free public service of the State Bar of Nevada. LRS have staff trained to select qualified and experienced attorneys for referrals. Attorneys are pre-screened and must meet pre-set qualifications in terms of cases handled and years of experience. LRS will provide you with the name of an attorney who practices in the area of law related to your problem so that you can set up a consultation.
When you call LRS, you will be asked what area of the state you are calling from and the nature of your legal problem. Any information you provide will be held in the strictest confidence. The LRS staff are not lawyers and therefore cannot give you legal advice, but will help you find the right resource for your situation.
Provides assistance to low-income Nevadans for limited civil law matters. Includes dedicated Tenants’ Rights Center, Low Income Tax Payer Clinic, Indian Law Project, and Senior Law Project. NLS does not handle criminal law cases.
Legal Aid Center of Southern Nevada
Legal Aid Center of Southern Nevada's Pro Bono Project offers a variety of Ask-A-Lawyer programs for unrepresented individuals to receive free 15-minute consultations with volunteer attorneys. There are no income restrictions to participate in an Ask-A-Lawyer program. The website includes program flyers, intake forms, signup, and other information about the Family Law, Debt Collection, Landlord/Tenant, Foreclosure, Small Claims, Veterans, Probate, Small Business Project, and Child Support Ask-A-Lawyer programs.
Thomas & Mack Legal Clinic, UNLV William Boyd School of Law
Includes the Family Justice Clinic, Education Clinic, Immigration Clinic, Investor Protection Clinic, Juvenile Justice Clinic, Mediation Clinic, Misdemeanor Clinic, Tax Clinic, and Appellate Clinic.
Volunteer Attorneys for Rural Nevadans (VARN)
The Pro Bono Project provides free legal assistance to the low-income residents of rural northern Nevada for limited civil law matters including family law, real property, and other civil legal matters to low-income residents of rural northern Nevada in Carson City, Churchill, Douglas, Lyon, Storey, Humboldt, Elko, and White Pine counties. VARN does not handle criminal law cases.
VARN also offers a Lawyer in the Lobby (LIL) program. During the pandemic, this program is handled by telephone rather than meeting in person with an attorney. The LIL program offers a twenty (20) minute free consultation with an attorney and is offered five (5) times per month. AN APPOINTMENT IS REQUIRED FOR A LIL CONSULTATION. Please call VARN at 775-883-8278 to obtain an appointment or for more information.
Northern Nevada Legal Aid is a nonprofit legal aid organization serving qualified residents in Washoe and surrounding rural northern Nevada counties. Legal aid is free or low-cost advice, assistance, or representation in civil matters for those who could not otherwise afford an attorney. Its goal is to eliminate barriers to access to the legal system for our society’s most vulnerable members to protect their rights, keep them safe and provide stability. It also provides legal system efficiencies by decreasing self-represented litigants.
State of Nevada Self-Help Center
The State of Nevada Self-Help Center website is intended to provide general information, forms, and resources for people who are representing themselves in Nevada's courts without a lawyer. Includes Divorce, Custody, Paternity, Child Support, Legal Separation, Annulment, Motions and Oppositions, Name Change, Guardianship, Adoption, Termination of Parental Rights, and other miscellaneous family and civil case forms. Forms found on the State of Nevada Self-Help Center website can be used in any court in Nevada.
This website does not have forms or information on Child Protective Service (CPS) matters, gender changes, Probate, Wills, Trusts, Power of Attorney, Evictions, or Small Claims.
The Civil Law Self-Help Center's mission is to increase informed access to the legal system by providing education, information, legal forms, community referrals, and other support services to self-represented parties with civil matters in Clark County, Nevada, regardless of income, assets, or citizenship. Assistance is available to walk-in customers on a first-come-first-served basis. The Center does not provide assistance over the telephone or via e-mail. The staff at the Center cannot provide legal advice.
Second Judicial District Court Resource Center
A proverbial “one stop shop” for information and assistance with court matters for those who represent themselves in Family Court. We help to provide the citizens of Washoe County with general information about court process and procedures, court approved forms and packets, assist with the filing of documents, as well as direct patrons to free legal resources in the community. Staff works directly with citizens in person, over the telephone and through email.
The Family Law Self-Help Center's mission is to increase informed access to the legal system by providing education, information, legal forms, community referrals, and other support services to self-represented parties with family law matters in Clark County, Nevada, regardless of income, assets or citizenship. Assistance is available to walk-in customers on a first-come-first-served basis. The center does not provide assistance over the telephone or via e-mail. The staff at the center cannot provide legal advice.
Office of Military Legal Assistance (Nevada Attorney General's Office)
The Nevada Attorney General’s Office of Military Legal Assistance (OMLA) provides pro bono legal assistance and representation to active duty, reserve and National Guard service members in a wide area of civil law matters. The OMLA also currently provides assistance to veterans with wills and powers of attorney. The OMLA is the first ever, attorney general-led program offering our military communities access to pro bono civil legal services. Additionally, the program seeks to educate Nevada’s communities and create policy aimed at addressing issues affecting our state’s military families. The OMLA is a comprehensive, statewide program combining the joint efforts of legal aid organizations, private sponsors and the State Bar of Nevada to address the need for affordable legal representation in our military communities.
Nevada Department of Veterans Services
For over 75 years this service has been dedicated to helping an estimated 250,000 Nevada veterans get the services, benefits and quality of life they deserve. The men and women of the Nevada Department of Veterans Services are honored to address any issue, problem or concern of Nevada’s veterans and serving military – and their families.
In addition to offering benefits counseling and assistance, including filing VA claims at no cost, they also operate a nationally recognized Southern Nevada State Veterans Home, in Boulder City, and the Northern Nevada State Veterans Home in Sparks. They also offer burial services and support obtaining military honors at the memorial cemeteries located in both Northern and Southern Nevada.
Northern Nevada Veteran's Resource Center (NNVRC)
The Northern Nevada Veterans Resource Center (NNVRC) is a non-profit organization that is dedicated to rapidly rehousing homeless veterans and preventing veterans from becoming homeless. The NNVRC is able to provide a variety of assistance to military veterans and their families. Services offered include but are not limited to rental assistance, utility assistance, case management, assistance obtaining veteran benefits, community referrals for additional services, including employment, education, legal, health, childcare, food, transportation, and more.
The office recommends that you call ahead to schedule an appointment (775-284-8387).
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (Reno Regional Office & Las Vegas Satellite Office)
The Reno Regional Office of the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs offers assistance with:
Catholic Charities of Northern Nevada
Catholic Charities of Northern Nevada’s immigration assistance program helps clients find a legal pathway to citizenship. They assist people with obtaining legal permanent residency, temporary protective status, employment authorization, U nonimmigrant status, and Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA).
Catholic Charities of Southern Nevada
Catholic Charities of Southern Nevada’s Immigration Services assists those who are seeing United States lawful permanent residence, employment authorization, citizenship, asylum, administrative relief in the form of Temporary Protective Status (TPS) and deferred action. The program represents individuals in immigration proceedings before the Executive Office for Immigration Review, United States Citizenship and Immigration Services, and the Department of Human Services.
The UNLV Immigration Clinic offers law students real world experience practicing immigration law, by providing free legal services to members of the campus community, defending adults in detention, unaccompanied children against deportation, and DACA renewals.
