How to Locate the Law: A Guide to Locating Nevada Law and Legal Resources

The Supreme Court of Nevada Law Library has helpful guides to find legal information in Nevada. These guides show where to find Nevada laws, how to look up court decisions, and how to check the history of laws. They also give tips on understanding court rules and other important papers. You can use the library’s books or online resources to help with your research. If you need more help, the library staff can show you how to use these tools.

The Supreme Court of Nevada Law Library has created several comprehensive guides with methods and strategies for researching Nevada legal materials. The guides listed below highlight finding Nevada legal resources and may be helpful when diving more in-depth into these topics or resources.

• Nevada Primary Sources - Describes the publications, both official and unofficial, that contain Nevada's laws, and where to find them in print in the Nevada Supreme Court Law Library, as well as online (on both free and commercial legal research sites).
• Researching Nevada Judicial Opinions - Offers methods and strategies for researching Nevada judicial opinions, specifically opinions issued by the Nevada Supreme Court and Nevada Court of Appeals. It describes how to perform case law research in print as well as online from free and some fee-based sources and discusses the availability of unpublished dispositions.

• Administrative Docket (ADKT) User Guide - Helps patrons navigate the Administrative Dockets that are in the Law Library’s collection.

Primary Law consists of any source that establishes the law, and is issued by official bodies from the three branches of government: the Judiciary, the Legislature, and the Executive Branch. Copies of all Nevada primary law can be found in the Supreme Court of Nevada Law Library, or accessible online. 

• The Constitution of the State of Nevada 

• Nevada Revised Statutes & Statutes of Nevada 
  • Nevada Revised Statutes is the current codified laws of a general and permanent nature of the State of Nevada. Organized by subject matter, the Nevada Revised Statutes represent a single, unified system of section numbers running from beginning to end. 
  • Statutes of Nevada is a compilation of all legislation passed by the Nevada Legislature during a particular bi-annual Legislative Session (1945-current). Also known as session laws.  

• Legislative Counsel Bureau's Legislature Research Guides - These guides provide overviews on establishing departments, boards, commissions, and bureaus and defining the scope of their powers and responsibilities. In addition, the Legislature sets down the fundamental rules of government in Nevada in the form of administrative procedures, civil service rules, and election laws. These publications contain facts and figures about the current or upcoming legislative session and its members, as well as historical information, which includes reapportionment and redistricting.
  • The Guide to the Nevada Legislature 2023-2024 - Overview of the Nevada Legislature, including the state's current legislators, legislative committees for the 2023 Session, and legislative structure and process.
  • Nevada's Legislative Process - Flowchart outlining how a bill becomes law in Nevada. 
  • Special Sessions of the Nevada Legislature - The Nevada Legislature may convene in special session at the call of the governor or by petition of the body. This guide contains information and details on all 33 special sessions.

• Nevada Electronic Legislative Information System (NELIS) - The Nevada Electronic Legislative Information System (NELIS) is a tool on the Legislative website for viewing Bill Draft Requests (BDRs) and content of bills, committees, committee meetings, budgets, and floor sessions. For more information on how to access and use NELIS, please review the User Manual. 

• Nevada Legislative History Research Guide - A visual overview of performing legislative history research for Nevada Statutes.

• Nevada Register - A compilation of proposed, adopted, emergency, and temporary administrative regulations, notices of intent, and informational statements. Available online from 1997-current.
• Nevada Administrative Codes (NAC) - Current version is available on the Legislature's website and is available in print at the Law Library. The staff at the Law Library are able to retrieve superseded versions. Please contact the Law Library Reference Desk at reference@nvcourts.nv.gov or by calling (775) 684-1640 for assistance.
• Nevada Attorney General Opinions - Pursuant to NRS 228.150, when requested, the Nevada Attorney General provides legal opinions, in writing, to designated state and local public officials and government agencies on any question of law relating to their respective offices, departments, agencies, boards, or commissions.  While not binding law, these formal legal opinions have been given great weight and respect by the courts.

• Nevada Attorney General Open Meeting Law Opinions - Opinions rendered by the Office of the Attorney General as a guideline for enforcing the Open Meeting Law set out in Chapter 241 of the Nevada Revised Statutes, and not as a written opinion requested pursuant to NRS 228.150.

• Nevada Supreme Court and Court of Appeals Advance Opinions - The written decisions of the Nevada Supreme Court from 2015 to the present. Includes Nevada Appellate Courts Advance Opinions and links to information about forthcoming opinions of the Nevada Supreme Court and Court of Appeals, preliminary prints of Nevada Reports pages, and unpublished orders of the Nevada Supreme Court. There is no retrospective coverage and opinions are not searchable.
• Nevada Supreme Court Administrative Orders - The Supreme Court of Nevada has the constitutional obligation to attend to the administration of the court system. It is the policy of the Supreme Court to provide a comprehensive, coherent mechanism for the adoption, amendment, and repeal of administrative rules for the judicial system of Nevada. The Clerk of the Supreme Court keeps a record of the administrative docket and enters all petitions, papers, comments, reports, and orders. The most recent administrative docket filings. There is no retrospective coverage and opinions are not searchable.

• Nevada Court Rules - Includes rules for all levels of court and jurisdiction in the state of Nevada. 

• Nevada Rules of Appellate Procedure (currently in effect, 8/15/2024)

Nevada Appellate Courts Case Management System (C-Track)

Search Nevada Appellate Courts case management system (C-Track) by case number, court, or participant. Includes Nevada Supreme Court and Nevada Court of Appeals cases. When searching for a closed case, please make sure that you have un-checked the "Exclude Closed" box before searching. 

Disclaimer: The information and documents available in C-Track should not be relied upon as an official record of action. Only filed documents can be viewed. Some documents received in a case may not be available for viewing. Some documents originating from a lower court, including records and appendices, may not be available for viewing. For official records, please contact the Clerk of the Supreme Court of Nevada at (775) 684-1600.

Second Judicial District Court Case Inquiry (Washoe County, Nevada)

Search case status and case filing in the 2nd Judicial District Court in Reno, Nevada, by case number, case type, case description, party name, company name, and agency cross-reference number. Includes general case information, docket entries, cross reference numbers, and case event information only. Case filings are not available.

Eighth Judicial District Court Case Lookup (Clark County, Nevada)

Provides the status of cases and case filings in the 8th Judicial District Court in Clark County, Nevada. Includes a Smart Search Tutorial on how to use the case lookup portal. Sealed cases and certain information that is exempt from disclosure will not appear on the Portal. Please visit the court where the case was initiated for more information.

Las Vegas Municipal Court Case Lookup

Requires court case number for the search. Includes general case information, docket entries, and case event information only. Case filings are not available. This page also includes a Work Program and Community Service program service to review the status of your hours.

Las Vegas Township Justice Court Records Inquiry

Search civil and criminal case records and traffic citations by case number, cross-reference number, party name, attorney name, or bar number. Includes general case information, docket entries, and case event information only. Case filings are not available.

City of North Las Vegas Municipal Court Case Search

Search cases by defendant name, case number, or citation number. Review case information, docket sheet, and payment information, or make a payment only. 
NOTE: Warning on websites indicates not for use on mobile platforms (cell phone, tablet, etc.).

Cities and counties in Nevada each have their own set of county and city codes. For the most up-to-date version of a code, please view the online version. If you wish to view a print copy, contact your nearest law library to see if they have a copy. The Supreme Court of Nevada Law Library has updated copies of all the local codes and a collection of superseded / outdated local codes.

• For a list of all the county and city codes that are available online, please view the Legislative Counsel Bureau's Research Division guide on Nevada County and City Codes. 
• For a list of the City Charters available online, please view the Legislative Counsel Bureau's Research Division guide on City Charters of Nevada. 
• For help with navigating Nevada's local codes, please view the Nevada County and Municipal Code User Guide.