Nevada Law Libraries

The Supreme Court of Nevada Law Library is located at 201 South Carson Street in Carson City and is open Monday through Friday, 8:00 am to 5:00 pm. It helps the Nevada Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, and the public with legal research. The library provides guides on finding Nevada laws, researching court opinions, and using administrative dockets. It also offers access to online legal resources and e-books through the LexisNexis Digital Library and various legal research databases like HeinOnline, Lexis, and Westlaw. For legal forms and resources, the library points to self-help centers and court websites for additional support.

 The Supreme Court of Nevada Law Library

201 South Carson Street
Carson City, NV 89701
(775) 684-1640
reference@nvcourts.nv.gov

Visit in person:
Monday – Friday
8:00am – 5:00 pm
(except state holidays)

The mission of The Supreme Court of Nevada Law Library is to serve as a comprehensive current and archival resource for legal research conducted by the Justices and staff of the Nevada Supreme Court, as well as the Judges and staff of the Nevada Court of Appeals. The Law Library’s collection and services supplement the in-house legal resources of the Office of the Attorney General and the Legislature. The Law Library also serves the citizens of Nevada, local governments, and the private bar.

The Supreme Court of Nevada Law Library has created several comprehensive guides with methods and strategies for researching Nevada legal materials. The guides listed below highlight finding Nevada legal resources and may be helpful when diving more in-depth into these topics or resources.

• Nevada Primary Sources - Describes the publications, both official and unofficial, that contain Nevada's laws, and where to find them in print in the Nevada Supreme Court Law Library, as well as online (on both free and commercial legal research sites).
• Researching Nevada Judicial Opinions - Offers methods and strategies for researching Nevada judicial opinions, specifically opinions issued by the Nevada Supreme Court and Nevada Court of Appeals. It describes how to perform case law research in print as well as online from free and some fee-based sources and discusses the availability of unpublished dispositions.
• Administrative Docket (ADKT) User Guide - Helps patrons navigate the Administrative Dockets that are in the Law Library’s collection.
• Nevada Legislative History Research Guide - A visual overview of performing legislative history research for Nevada Statutes.

The forms provided are a starting point, not a complete list. They offer ideas on content and style, but courts may have unique requirements. Contact the clerk of the court where your case will be filed to ensure compliance with formatting, content, and procedural rules.

Start your Nevada forms search with self-help centers and court websites:

Nevada Appellate Forms

Includes Notice of Appeal, Certificate of Service, Docketing Statement, Streamlined Request for Extension of Time to File Brief and more forms.

Translated Legal Forms

Since January 2022, the Nevada Supreme Court Law Library has been awarded three grants from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) through the Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA), administered by the Nevada State Library, Archives and Public Records (NSLAPR). The Nevada Supreme Court Law Library used 100% of grant funds to translate standardized divorce, custody, family law, name change, and guardianship self-help legal forms to ensure self-represented litigants of limited English proficiency (LEP) in Nevada have equal access to court services.

The LexisNexis Digital Library is a collection of legal e-books that you may check out and read on your tablet, computer's web browser, or through an online app (both iOS and Android apps are available). The Supreme Court of Nevada's LexisNexis Digital Library subscription includes hundreds of legal treatises and primary law sources (e.g., statutes and court rules). To access this collection, you need a Supreme Court of Nevada Law Library card - your username is your library bar code and your password is your phone number or the password used to create your library card.

Additionally, all LexisNexis Digital Library titles are in the Supreme Court of Nevada Law Library Catalog. All titles are in the LexisNexis Digital Library collection and many have print copies available at the law library. 

For more information, please visit the LexisNexis Digital Library LibGuide.

Legal Research Databases

The Supreme Court of Nevada Law Library also offers visitors access to several legal research services that are accessible onsite at the Law Library. Onsite database access includes: 

• HeinOnline - Historical content, law journals & reviews, state session laws, etc. 
• Lexis - State and federal primary and secondary sources, Shepard’s, and Practical Guidance.
• Westlaw - State and federal primary and secondary sources, KeyCite, and Practical Law.
• VitalLaw - Legal news, expert analysis, and treatises in the following Practice Areas: COVID-19, Elder & Estates Law, Family Law, Intellectual Property, Labor & Employment Law, Litigation, Payroll & Entitlements, Pension & Employee Benefits, Practice of Law, Products Liability & Insurance, Property & Construction Law, Securities (including Corporation Law & Governance and Federal & International), and Sexual Harassment & Workplace Compliance. Available onsite at the Law Library.