Nevada Law Libraries

The Weiner-Rogers Law Library at UNLV is the biggest law library in Nevada and is open Monday through Saturday. It supports students, faculty, and the public with legal research and resources. Students can get help from librarians, access databases, and use study rooms. The library offers digital copies of past exams and laptops for checkout. Members of the public can get a guest card to borrow books and join group tours of the library.

Weiner-Rogers Law Library
UNLV William S. Boyd School of Law 
4505 Maryland Parkway
Law Vegas, NV 89154-1080
(702) 895-2400
lawlibraryrefdesk@unlv.edu

Visit in person:
Monday - Thursday: 8:30am - 9:30pm
Friday - Saturday: 8:30am - 5:30pm
For building access, please call the Circulation Desk at 702-895-2400

In-person reference appointments are available to all patrons upon request by emailing lawlibraryrefdesk@unlv.edu or calling 702-895-2420

Our mission is to support the research, instruction, and service activities of an innovative institution and an engaged group of scholars. As the largest law library in the state, and the only law library in Nevada maintaining comprehensive collections of United States legal materials, the Wiener-Rogers Law Library also serves as a resource and archive for the entire state, providing services and making its collections accessible to researchers across disciplines and to members of the general public.

Services for Law Students

• Reference and Research Assistance - Reference librarians, who generally have both JDs and graduate degrees in information science, are available to assist students in locating sources, using databases, developing research strategies, and finding a wide variety of information.
• Database Access - Access to databases provided by the Library is available both on campus and remotely.
• Course Reserves and Past Exams - Digital copies of past exams are available through My BoydLaw
• Study Room - Study rooms are open to currently enrolled Boyd School of Law students and recent graduates preparing for the bar exam during the Library's hours of operation.
• Circulation and Interlibrary Loan - Circulating materials may be checked out by Law students for three week periods. Materials not available in the Law Library's collections may be accessed at Lied Library or other campus libraries. Interlibrary loan requests may be made for materials not available on campus by submitting the online form for books, articles or other materials.
• Instruction and Outreach - From time to time the Library offers informal research instruction. Topics range from transactional practice research to foreign and international law research to cost-effective research strategies.
• Services for Law Review - Materials needed for law review cite checks may be checked out on the law review account by any law review staff member. Library faculty are available to provide training to law review staff on a variety of topics, including research methods and strategies, database use, interdisciplinary research sources, Bluebook citation format, and preemption checking.
• Laptops - Laptops are available for checkout to students of the William S. Boyd School of Law.

Services For Law Faculty

• Current Awareness - The Library subscribes to a variety of electronic current awareness services that alert users to developments in particular areas of law. Librarians can work with faculty to set up email alerts and RSS feeds from commercial services, blogs, digital libraries, and other online resources.
• Remove Access to Databases
• Research and Reference Support - Through the Library's liaison program, faculty members are paired with lawyer-librarians who work with faculty to support scholarship and teaching activities. Library faculty liaisons are available to undertake research projects, locate materials, prepare research guides and bibliographies, and provide updates on new scholarship and news items in particular areas of interest.
• Instructional Support - Liaisons are available to assist faculty in integrating Library resources into course administration systems, whether through the creation of virtual libraries of relevant materials in online course sites, or through the development of research guides in particular subjects.
• Circulation and Interlibrary Loan - Materials circulate to faculty members for semester-long periods and are automatically renewed unless another faculty member or student has requested a particular item. The Library will retrieve items requested by faculty from other campus libraries. Those materials also circulate for semester-long periods, and will also be automatically renewed unless requested by another patron. Materials not available on campus will be purchased or obtained through interlibrary loan.
• Serials Routings - Print copies of newsletters, journals, magazines, and other periodicals are routed to faculty members upon request. Liaisons can furnish to faculty members a list of all publications that may be routed or a list of subject-specific publications.
• Course Reserves, E-Reserves, Past Exams - Faculty members may place any type of material (electronic or otherwise) on reserve, with check-out periods specified by faculty members. Materials placed on reserve for particular classes will be returned to the faculty member at the end of the semester.
• Conference Room - The Library's conference room is available to faculty for seminars, committee meetings, and other events.
• Faculty Publications Exhibit - The exhibit case on the ground floor of the law school highlights faculty writings.

Services for the General Public

• Reference Assistance - Reference librarians are available to answer ready reference questions and to assist patrons in locating sources and using legal research resources. Librarians cannot undertake research for public patrons, and cannot provide legal advice or interpret sources for patrons.
• Circulation - Residents of Nevada may obtain a guest borrower card by completing a guest borrower request form, providing a current Nevada drivers license or identification, and paying the applicable fee. The check-out period is typically three weeks for circulating materials, and ten items may be checked out at any one time from all NSHE institutional libraries.
• Group Visits and Tours - Library faculty are happy to provide tours of the Library facility and collections to interested groups.

In addition to its print collection, the Law Library provides access to nearly 50 law-specific commercial online databases and more than 500 databases available through the University Libraries. Most, but not all, databases can be accessed by any patrons who visit the Library. 

UNLV Community and Users on campus

Anyone can access anywhere