- Nevada Supreme Court Law Library
- All Categories
- Room 102
- Room 103
- Room 107
If you have questions, or need assistance, please contact us:
Reference Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00am - 5:00pm (except state holidays)
Chat Hours: Monday - Friday, 9:00am - 4:00pm (except state holidays)
Applicants must list a Nevada residence or Nevada State Bar Number on their application. A library card allows patrons to check out physical materials and access digital materials held in our LexisNexis Digital Library.
Law Libraries in Nevada help people find legal information and resources. They have books, online databases, and staff who can guide you but can’t give legal advice. They provide access to important legal documents like the Nevada Revised Statutes and federal laws. Some resources, like the Nevada Reports, aren't available online but can be found in law libraries or purchased. For recent laws and legal opinions, you can use online tools or visit the law libraries in Clark County, Washoe County, or the Supreme Court of Nevada.
This guide is intended to provide basic information about Law Libraries in Nevada and the resources and services they provide. A Law Library is a specialized library that provides access to legal materials, and assistance in locating legal resources. They usually contain print resources of self-help books, primary law, and secondary resources, as well as online access to legal databases.
| What We CAN Do | What We CANNOT Do |
|---|---|
| Make referrals to proper agencies and legal service providers | Give legal advice. This is usually any question that includes the phrases "can I?" or "should I" or "am I interpreting ___ correctly?" or "how do I?" |
| Direct public to sources of law and forms | Interpret statutes, cases, or regulations |
| Instruct how to use legal materials | Offer opinions on legal issues |
| Explain format requirements for pleadings | Select specific forms and/or instruct you on what you should put in those forms |
| Locate informative reading materials | Make referrals for specific attorneys |
| Provide a limited numbers of cases, statutes, and/or regulations via email, when you provide us with the citations | Perform legal research for you. We cannot answer, "can you help me find cases on landlord/tenant law?" However, we can tell you how to do this type of research yourself. |
According to Nevada law (NRS 380.153), the State Library must create a list of important legal books and materials that should be available to everyone in each county, either in print or online. The following resources are the digital versions of those important materials listed in NAC 380.010.
You can find Nevada's current legal sources online in the Nevada Legislature's Nevada Law Library or buy a copy of the Official Nevada Law Library for $395, which includes the Nevada Reports.
The Nevada Law Library has the current laws of Nevada, including the Nevada Revised Statutes. The Advance Sheets are only available in print, but you can find information about bills on the Legislature's website.
You can select this link to see the Table of Contents for the Nevada Revised Statutes.
Select this link to view the Table of Contents for the Nevada Administrative Code.
The official website has Nevada Attorney General Opinions from 1914 to now.
Nevada Reports are not available online, but you can find Advance Opinions and Forthcoming Opinions on the Nevada Appellate Court's website. The Pacific Reporter, which includes these opinions, is available on Westlaw, onsite at the Nevada Supreme Court Law Library.
The Nevada Legislature’s website gives you access to bills, resolutions, daily histories, journals, and indexes for the Nevada Legislature.
The Library of Congress has U.S. laws from 1789 to 1951. Laws from 1951 to 2019 are available through the National Archives. These laws are called the Statutes at Large, and they include all the laws passed by Congress.
The United States Code is a collection of all general and permanent U.S. laws, organized by topic.
This resource has the full text of new federal laws and important government documents. It’s available at certain law libraries in Nevada.
These reports from 1991 to 2018 are provided by the Supreme Court of the United States.
The C.F.R. has rules made by federal agencies from 1996 to now, available online.
The Federal Register is the daily journal of the U.S. government, available from the National Archives.
17 municipalities publish their codes through MuniCode: Boulder City, Carson City, Churchill County, Clark County, Douglas County, Fallon, Fernley, Henderson, Lander County, Las Vegas, North Las Vegas, Nye County, Reno, Sparks, Storey County, Washoe County, and Winnemucca.
Black's Law Dictionary explains legal terms. The latest edition (12th ed. 2024) is available at certain law libraries in Nevada, and on Westlaw, onsite at the Nevada Supreme Court Law Library.
This resource is no longer updated and isn’t available online, but the 2012 print edition is held at law libraries in Nevada.
This manual is published by LexisNexis and available through the LexisNexis Digital Law Library with a Supreme Court of Nevada Law Library card.
The advance sheets and the advance opinions of the United States Supreme Court Reports, the Nevada Reports and the Nevada Attorney General’s Opinions must be obtained and made available to the general public as soon as they are issued.
Please complete the following short survey to let us know how we are doing, or how we may better serve you: Law Library Survey
Advisory Note
This information is provided as a courtesy only. The law library shall not be liable for errors contained herein or for direct, indirect, special or consequential damages in connection with the furnishing of this material. The law librarians are not members of the Nevada State Bar and nothing on this site should be considered as legal advice.