Nevada Law Libraries

The Washoe County Law Library is located at 75 Court Street, Reno, NV. It is open Monday and Thursday from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, Tuesday and Wednesday from 10:00 am to 7:00 pm, and Friday from 8:00 am to 12:00 pm. The library helps people by providing legal information, resources, and education, and works with various organizations to support community legal needs. They offer many legal forms and resources, including electronic filing instructions and instructional videos. Online resources include free eBooks, legal documents, and databases like EBSCO Legal Information Reference Center, Gale LegalForms, and Westlaw, which are available on-site.

Washoe County Law Library
Second Judicial District Court
75 Court Street, Room 101
Reno, NV 89501
(775) 328-3250
lawlibrary@washoecourts.us

Visit in person:
Monday & Thursday: 8:00am - 5:00pm
Tuesday & Wednesday: 10:00am - 7:00pm
Friday: 8:00am - 12:00pm

The mission of the Washoe County Law Library is to enhance access to justice by (1) providing legal information, education, resources, tools, and materials, in print and digital formats, to those engaged with the justice system, and (2) partnering with the courts, bar associations, legal clinics, civic organizations, and government entities to help ensure the legal needs of the community are addressed.

Legal Forms

The Washoe County Law Library has a comprehensive list of legal forms and resources, for use by Washoe County residents. Specialized forms and packets have been created and approved for use in the Second Judicial District Court. Instructional videos are also available to assist in filing. 

Electronic Filing

Information on Electronic Filing for cases in the Second Judicial District Court is available with detailed account instructions. 

Library Online Resources

The following are electronic resources provided by the Washoe County Law Library to the public to enhance access to justice by providing legal information, education, resources, tools, and materials, to those engaged with the justice system.

For access information please call (775) 328-3250 or email LawLibrary@washoecourts.us

• EBSCO Legal Information Reference Center - Providing FREE online access to eBooks from many of the top consumer legal reference books, more than 310 full-text publications, and thousands of legal forms. Many of the eBooks are from Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of self-help legal information.
• EBSCO Legal Source - Provides indexing and full text coverage of the most respected scholarly law journals. Covering current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends of the legal world. This database is excellent for attorney's, paralegals, students, educators, and others involved in the law.
• Gale LegalForms - Take the law into your own hands and create accurate, reliable legal documents with no hassle with Gale LegalForms. Many of the forms and documents are available in Word and Adobe format. Gale LegalForms offers an easy-to-use, state-by-state and step-by-step approach to addressing basic legal matters, such as developing a will, conducting real estate transactions including rental or lease agreements, and more. Users have access to thousands of customizable online legal documents that are available anytime, anywhere.
• LexisNexis Digital Library - The Lexis Digital Library will give you 24-hours-a-day, 7-days-a-week access to eBook versions of all the current Lexis and Matthew Bender titles we have in print on the Law Library shelves. This includes popular titles like Nevada Civil Practice Manual, California Forms of Pleading and Practice Annotated, Powell on Real Property, and more! With anytime access, you can check out one eBook at a time for 7 days. You can check out materials and read them on your computer or through the app, available for both iOS and Android devices.
• National Consumer Law Center Digital Library - Access a variety of up-to-date books on consumer law, including Fair Debt Collection, Student Loan Law, Home Foreclosures, Consumer Law Pleadings, Automobile Fraud, and more.
• Westlaw - Washoe County Law Library provides free access to Westlaw. Westlaw is an online legal research service providing quick, easy access to West's vast collection of statutes, case law materials, treatises, forms, and other legal resources, as well as primary law for the U.S. and all 50 states. Onsite access only. 
• HeinOnline - The Law Library subscribes to HeinOnline. With 30 research databases, this premier research platform contains the full text of more than 3,000 scholarly journals, access to U.S. federal and state case law, thousands of classic international documents, and a wealth of government publications. Access complete coverage of the U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S. Code, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Congressional Record, and more—all are exact replicas of the original print publications and all are fully searchable.