LibGuides: Nevada Supreme Court Law Library: Self-Represented Litigants Guide: Legal Books and Materials Required in Every County

Legal Books and Materials Required in Every County

Pursuant to NRS 380.153, the State Library, Archives and Public Records Administrator shall adopt by regulation a list of legal books and materials which are considered primary sources and which the State Library, Archives and Public Records Administrator has determined must be available in every county to the inhabitants of that county in print or electronic form. The following resources are digital equivalents to those resources listed in NAC 380.010.

Nevada primary sources can be found online from the Nevada Legislature's Nevada Law Library collectio, or purchase a copy of the Official Nevada Law Library from the LCB's Publications website for $395, which includes the Nevada Reports.

Advance Sheets of Nevada Statutes
The Nevada Law Library contains the current, codified laws of the State of Nevada, including the Nevada Revised Statutes. The Advance Sheets are only issued in print, but the Legislature's website provides information on bills by legislative session.
Nevada Revised Statutes
Follow this link to the Table of Contents of the Nevada Revised Statutes.
Nevada Administrative Code
Follow this link to view the Table of Contents of the Nevada Administrative Code.
Nevada Attorney General's Opinions
The official site for the Nevada Attorney General Opinions from 1914-current.
Nevada Reports
The Nevada Reports are not avaialble online, but Advance Opinions and Forthcoming Opinions can be found on the Nevada Appellate Court's website. The Pacific Reporter is published by Thomson Reuters and available on Westlaw.
Nevada Legislature
Provides access to the bills, resolutions, daily histories, daily journals and index for the bills and resolutions of the Nevada Legislature.
United States Statutes at Large
Provided by the Library of Congress, vol.1-vol. 64 (1789-1951).
United States Statutes at Large
The United States Statutes at Large, vol. 65-131 (1951-current). Commonly referred to as the Statutes at Large, is the permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress. The Statutes at Large is prepared and published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) .
United States Code
The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives.
United States Code Congressional Administrative News
U.S.C.C.A.N. is published by Thomson Reuters and "contains the full text of new federal laws, Congressional Committee Reports that detail histories of the laws, Signing Statements, Presidential Proclamations, Executive Orders, Reorganization Plans, President's Messages, Federal Regulations for the U.S. Federal government, Proposed Constitutional Amendments, Federal Court Rules and Sentencing Guidelines." Available through patron access onsite at the law libraries of Clark County, the Supreme Court of Nevada, and Washoe County.
United States Supreme Court Reports
1991-current, provided by the Supreme Court of the United States.
Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.)
1996-present, hosted by GovInfo.
Federal Register
The daily journal of the U.S. Government from the National Archives.
MuniCode - Nevada
17 municipalities publish their codes through MuniCode: Boulder City, Carson City, Churchill County, Clark County, Douglas County, Fallon, Fernley, Henderson, Lander County, Las Vegas, North Las Vegas, Nye County, Reno, Sparks, Storey County, Washoe County, and Winnemucca.
Black's Law Dictionary
Black's Law Dictionary (11th ed. 2019) is published by Thomson Reuters and available through Westlaw patron access at Clark County, Supreme Court of Nevada, and Washoe County law libraries.
NALS Nevada Legal Forms
This resource is no longer updated and is not available in a digital format. However the 2012 print edition is held by the law libraries of Clark County, the Supreme Court of Nevada, and Washoe County.
Nevada Civil Practice Manual
Published by LexisNexis and available through the LexisNexis Digital Law Library with a Supreme Court of Nevada Law Library card.