Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) Research Guide

The Nevada Supreme Court Law Library has a database where you can see old pages from the Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) from 1980 to 2014. This database shows chapters 38 to 683 and how the NAC changed over time. Before, updates were made page by page, but starting in the mid-1990s, whole chapters were replaced. You can search for text or keywords in the database, but not all pages can be searched. If you need help with specific sections or chapters, contact the Law Library by email or phone.

The Legislature publishes amendments to the NAC. The Nevada Supreme Court Law Library keeps superseded/historical pages from the NAC. With approval from the Legislature, the NAC Historical Database was been created by the Law Library to provide digital access to superseded pages of the NAC from its first publication in 1980 through 2014.

About this database:

• Access to NAC Chapters 38 to 683 from 1980-2014.
• From 1980 to the mid-1990s, NAC chapters were amended page by page.
• From the mid-1990s through 2014, transmittal letters started replacing chapters in their entirety. Older NAC versions may only have a few pages that were replaced.
• Not all uploaded pages are full-text searchable.

This project ended in 2014. If you are searching for a specific section or chapter, please contact the Law Library via email at reference@nvcourts.nv.gov or call 775-684-1640.

This database only shows the dates when an amended chapter was added and removed from the Nevada Administrative Code. These dates do not necessarily correspond to the exact dates when a specific code was in effect.

To learn when a NAC chapter was added, look at the date at the bottom of each page. For example, the chapter below was amended and added to the NAC in 3-00 (March of 2000). 

To view the amended dates of individual codes, please consult the historical note at the bottom of each individual code (example below).

Under the drop-down menu “Search Type,” the database allows for both full-text and keyword search options.

1. To search the full text of the available pages, select “NAC Full Text”
   • When you full-text search, your results will show:
     • A score of matching terms from 0-100 (with 100 being the highest match)
     • The chapter name, pages numbers, and date
     • A brief summary of the document

Please Note: Not all pages are full-text searchable. 

2. To search by a keyword, select “NAC Keyword”
   • Search by Chapter Number, Chapter Title, Contributing Institution, and Date Added/Removed

Please Note: Search results automatically default to numerical order. If the chapter you are researching only has individual pages uploaded, then your results will automatically sort by page number. In order to sort your results, click on the individual headings at the top.  

The Nevada Library Cooperative maintains changes to the Nevada Administrative Code (NAC). The NAC is the codified, administrative regulations of the Executive Branch.   

Per NRS 233B.039, not all state agencies are required to publish their regulations in the Nevada Administrative Code. For those agencies that are exempt, their regulations are likely posted on their respective websites. Exempted agencies include:

• The Governor
• Department of Corrections (except as otherwise provided in NRS 209.221 and 209.2473)
• Nevada System of Higher Education
• Office of the Military
• Nevada Gaming Control Board
• Nevada Gaming Commission (except as otherwise provided in NRS 368A.140 and 463.765)
• Division of Welfare and Supportive Services of the Department of Health and Human Services (except as otherwise provided in NRS 425.620)
• Division of Health Care Financing Policy of the Department of Health and Human Services (except as otherwise provided by NRS 422.390)
• Office of the State Engineer (except as otherwise provided in NRS 533.365)
• Division of Industrial Relations of the Department of Business and Industry acting to enforce the provisions of NRS 618.375
• Administrator of the Division of Industrial Relations of the Department of Business and Industry in establishing and adjusting the schedule of fees and charges for accident benefits pursuant to subsection 2 of NRS 616C.260
• Board to Review Claims in adopting resolutions to carry out its duties pursuant to NRS 445C.310
• Silver State Health Insurance Exchange