According to Nevada law (NRS 380.153), the State Library must create a list of important legal books and materials that should be available to everyone in each county, either in print or online. The following resources are the digital versions of those important materials listed in NAC 380.010.
You can find Nevada's current legal sources online in the Nevada Legislature's Nevada Law Library or buy a copy of the Official Nevada Law Library for $395, which includes the Nevada Reports.
The Nevada Law Library has the current laws of Nevada, including the Nevada Revised Statutes. The Advance Sheets are only available in print, but you can find information about bills on the Legislature's website.
You can select this link to see the Table of Contents for the Nevada Revised Statutes.
Select this link to view the Table of Contents for the Nevada Administrative Code.
The official website has Nevada Attorney General Opinions from 1914 to now.
Nevada Reports are not available online, but you can find Advance Opinions and Forthcoming Opinions on the Nevada Appellate Court's website. The Pacific Reporter, which includes these opinions, is available on Westlaw, onsite at the Nevada Supreme Court Law Library.
The Nevada Legislature’s website gives you access to bills, resolutions, daily histories, journals, and indexes for the Nevada Legislature.
The Library of Congress has U.S. laws from 1789 to 1951. Laws from 1951 to 2019 are available through the National Archives. These laws are called the Statutes at Large, and they include all the laws passed by Congress.
The United States Code is a collection of all general and permanent U.S. laws, organized by topic.
This resource has the full text of new federal laws and important government documents. It’s available at certain law libraries in Nevada.
These reports from 1991 to 2018 are provided by the Supreme Court of the United States.
The C.F.R. has rules made by federal agencies from 1996 to now, available online.
The Federal Register is the daily journal of the U.S. government, available from the National Archives.
17 municipalities publish their codes through MuniCode: Boulder City, Carson City, Churchill County, Clark County, Douglas County, Fallon, Fernley, Henderson, Lander County, Las Vegas, North Las Vegas, Nye County, Reno, Sparks, Storey County, Washoe County, and Winnemucca.
Black's Law Dictionary explains legal terms. The latest edition (12th ed. 2024) is available at certain law libraries in Nevada, and on Westlaw, onsite at the Nevada Supreme Court Law Library.
This resource is no longer updated and isn’t available online, but the 2012 print edition is held at law libraries in Nevada.
This manual is published by LexisNexis and available through the LexisNexis Digital Law Library with a Supreme Court of Nevada Law Library card.
The Law Library has an online catalog that helps you find specific books in the collection. It also helps you find e-books in the LexisNexis Digital Library e-books and other online resources like HeinOnline and VitalLaw (these can only be accessed in-person at the library).
The library helps the Nevada Supreme Court, the Legislature, the Office of the Attorney General, other government agencies, local lawyers, and the public. You can borrow up to 10 items at a time for two weeks, with three automatic renewals.
Items from the collection can also be borrowed using interlibrary loan. Please contact your local public or college library for more information on interlibrary loan services.
Nevada residents and attorneys can get a library card. With a library card, you can check out books from the collection and access online resources, like the Legal Information Resource Center, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and the LexisNexis Digital Library.
Don't have a library card?
The National Consumer Law Center (NCLC) is a non-profit group that helps people understand consumer laws, especially for low-income and vulnerable Americans. They have 21 books on consumer law (in print and eBook) that are often called the “bibles of consumer law.” These books are used by lawyers who help consumers, as well as those who work with creditors and merchants. The books include sample legal documents, practice tools, important legal sources, and advanced search options.
Topics include:
The LexisNexis Digital Library has lots of legal e-books that you can borrow and read on your tablet, computer, or through an app on your phone (there are apps for both iPhones and Androids). The Supreme Court of Nevada's LexisNexis Digital Library has hundreds of important law books and sources, like laws and court rules. You can access it at the law library or from home if you have a library card.
All the LexisNexis Digital Library books are also listed in the Supreme Court of Nevada Law Library Catalog. Some of these books are also available in print at the law library.
For more information, you can visit the LexisNexis Digital Library Guide.
Michie's Nevada Revised Statutes Annotated
Nevada Civil Practice Manual by The Legal Information Reference Center is an online tool to help people who are handling their own legal issues. It has full-text legal books from top publishers like Nolo and thousands of legal forms specific to each state. You can find forms and information on topics like bankruptcy, business law, family law, financial planning, real estate, wills, and more. You can use it at the law library or online with a library card, either through a web browser or the EBSCO mobile app.
Want to know what's included?
Represent Yourself in Court by Index to Legal Periodicals & Books helps you find important articles on your topic. You can search old articles from 1908 to 1981 in the Retrospective collection or newer ones from 1994 to now in ILP & Books Full Text. You won’t be able to read the full articles, but you can see if your keywords are in the title, summary, or author. You can use it at the law library or online with a library card, either on a computer or with the EBSCO mobile app.
Want to know what's included?
Please complete the following short survey to let us know how we are doing, or how we may better serve you: Law Library Survey
Advisory Note
This information is provided as a courtesy only. The law library shall not be liable for errors contained herein or for direct, indirect, special or consequential damages in connection with the furnishing of this material. The law librarians are not members of the Nevada State Bar and nothing on this site should be considered as legal advice.