The Nevada Supreme Court Commission on Access to Justice was started by Nevada Supreme Court Rule 15 (SCR 15). The Access to Justice Commission works to make it easier for people in Nevada to get legal help.
Nevada Legal Resources Directory was created by the Nevada Access for Justice Commission and the Nevada State Bar and includes contact information for legal services organizations throughout the state of Nevada.
The State Bar of Nevada made Legal Information Brochures to help people learn about different legal topics. These brochures are available in both English and Spanish (Español). These brochures are made to give information and help the public, but they are not meant to be legal advice.
Brochures in English:
Brochures in Spanish:
State Bar of Nevada: Lawyer Referral & Information Service (LRS)
The Lawyer Referral and Information Service (LRS) is a free public service of the State Bar of Nevada. LRS have staff trained to select qualified and experienced attorneys for referrals. Attorneys are pre-screened and must meet pre-set qualifications in terms of cases handled and years of experience. LRS will provide you with the name of an attorney who practices in the area of law related to your problem so that you can set up a consultation.
When you call LRS, you will be asked what area of the state you are calling from and the nature of your legal problem. Any information you provide will be held in the strictest confidence. The LRS staff are not lawyers and therefore cannot give you legal advice, but will help you find the right resource for your situation.
Provides assistance to low-income Nevadans for limited civil law matters. Includes dedicated Tenants’ Rights Center, Low Income Tax Payer Clinic, Indian Law Project, and Senior Law Project. NLS does not handle criminal law cases.
Legal Aid Center of Southern Nevada
Legal Aid Center of Southern Nevada's Pro Bono Project offers a variety of Ask-A-Lawyer programs for unrepresented individuals to receive free 15-minute consultations with volunteer attorneys. There are no income restrictions to participate in an Ask-A-Lawyer program. The website includes program flyers, intake forms, signup, and other information about the Family Law, Debt Collection, Landlord/Tenant, Foreclosure, Small Claims, Veterans, Probate, Small Business Project, and Child Support Ask-A-Lawyer programs.
Thomas & Mack Legal Clinic, UNLV William Boyd School of Law
Includes the Family Justice Clinic, Education Clinic, Immigration Clinic, Investor Protection Clinic, Juvenile Justice Clinic, Mediation Clinic, Misdemeanor Clinic, Tax Clinic, and Appellate Clinic.
Volunteer Attorneys for Rural Nevadans (VARN)
The Pro Bono Project provides free legal assistance to the low-income residents of rural northern Nevada for limited civil law matters including family law, real property, and other civil legal matters to low-income residents of rural northern Nevada in Carson City, Churchill, Douglas, Lyon, Storey, Humboldt, Elko, and White Pine counties. VARN does not handle criminal law cases.
VARN also offers a Lawyer in the Lobby (LIL) program. During the pandemic, this program is handled by telephone rather than meeting in person with an attorney. The LIL program offers a twenty (20) minute free consultation with an attorney and is offered five (5) times per month. AN APPOINTMENT IS REQUIRED FOR A LIL CONSULTATION. Please call VARN at 775-883-8278 to obtain an appointment or for more information.
Southern Nevada Senior Legal Program
Southern Nevada Senior Law Program is a nonprofit legal organization serving senior (60+ years old) residents in Clark, Nye, Lincoln and Esmeralda counties. Legal services are offered at no-cost and their services range from evictions/housing, wills and estate planning, elder exploitation and abuse, consumer assistance, and government benefits.
Northern Nevada Legal Aid is a nonprofit legal aid organization serving qualified residents in Washoe and surrounding rural northern Nevada counties. Legal aid is free or low-cost advice, assistance, or representation in civil matters for those who could not otherwise afford an attorney. Its goal is to eliminate barriers to access to the legal system for our society’s most vulnerable members to protect their rights, keep them safe and provide stability. It also provides legal system efficiencies by decreasing self-represented litigants.
State of Nevada Self-Help Center
The State of Nevada Self-Help Center website is intended to provide general information, forms, and resources for people who are representing themselves in Nevada's courts without a lawyer. Includes Divorce, Custody, Paternity, Child Support, Legal Separation, Annulment, Motions and Oppositions, Name Change, Guardianship, Adoption, Termination of Parental Rights, and other miscellaneous family and civil case forms. Forms found on the State of Nevada Self-Help Center website can be used in any court in Nevada.
This website does not have forms or information on Child Protective Service (CPS) matters, gender changes, Probate, Wills, Trusts, Power of Attorney, Evictions, or Small Claims.
The Civil Law Self-Help Center's mission is to increase informed access to the legal system by providing education, information, legal forms, community referrals, and other support services to self-represented parties with civil matters in Clark County, Nevada, regardless of income, assets, or citizenship. Assistance is available to walk-in customers on a first-come-first-served basis. The Center does not provide assistance over the telephone or via e-mail. The staff at the Center cannot provide legal advice.
Second Judicial District Court Resource Center
A proverbial “one stop shop” for information and assistance with court matters for those who represent themselves in Family Court. We help to provide the citizens of Washoe County with general information about court process and procedures, court approved forms and packets, assist with the filing of documents, as well as direct patrons to free legal resources in the community. Staff works directly with citizens in person, over the telephone and through email.
The Family Law Self-Help Center's mission is to increase informed access to the legal system by providing education, information, legal forms, community referrals, and other support services to self-represented parties with family law matters in Clark County, Nevada, regardless of income, assets or citizenship. Assistance is available to walk-in customers on a first-come-first-served basis. The center does not provide assistance over the telephone or via e-mail. The staff at the center cannot provide legal advice.
Please complete the following short survey to let us know how we are doing, or how we may better serve you: Law Library Survey
Advisory Note
This information is provided as a courtesy only. The law library shall not be liable for errors contained herein or for direct, indirect, special or consequential damages in connection with the furnishing of this material. The law librarians are not members of the Nevada State Bar and nothing on this site should be considered as legal advice.
