Nevada Supreme Court Law Library: Self-Represented Litigants Guide

This is a list of articles from the State Bar of Nevada (Nevada Lawyer) and the Clark County Bar Association (Communique) to help you find more resources. Pro tip: Look at the sources the authors cite!

General

• Comm'r Erin Lee Truman & Comm'r Jay Young, Keeping Civil Discovery Civil, Nev. Law., May 2023, at 12.
• Eric D. Walther, Abandonment Issues: Avoiding a Common Mistake That Will Result in Your Post-Trial Appeal Being Dismissed, Nev. Law., Mar. 2022, at 8.
• Steven Silva, Don't Get Jammed Up, Preserve Those Issues, Nev. Law., Mar. 2022, at 12.
• Hon. Lidia S. Stiglich & Kathryn Combs, Appealing Appeals: Persuasive Appellate Case Building and Best Practices, Nev. Law., June 2021, at 8.
• Paul Larsen, Challenging an Agency Rule or Regulation: Where Do You Start?, Communique, Apr. 7, 2023, https://clarkcountybar.org/challenging-an-agency-rule-or-regulation-where-do-you-start/.
• Stephanie McDonald, E-Everything & Self-Represented Litigants, Communique, Apr. 19, 2024, https://clarkcountybar.org/e-everything-self-represented-litigants//

Criminal Law

• Erica Berrett & Jessica Perlick, Post-Conviction Primer: What Happens After Verdict, Nev. Law., Sept. 2020, at 22.
• Gerri Hardcastle & Allison Herr, Challenges to Inmate Sentencing Calculations: Common Pitfalls in Time Calculation Habeas Petitions, Nev. Law., Sept. 2020, at 24.
• Nick Michaud, Pleading the Fifth – the Right Against Self-Incrimination for Criminal and Civil Practitioners, Communique, Mar. 5, 2024, https://clarkcountybar.org/pleading-the-fifth-the-right-against-self-incrimination-for-criminal-and-civil-practitioners/.
• Morgan Shah, Sealing Nevada Criminal Records, Communique, Mar. 5, 2024, https://clarkcountybar.org/sealing-nevada-criminal-records/.

Professional Negligence

• Shannon Wise, What is Medical Malpractice?, Nev. Law., July 2024, at 8.
• Alia A. Najjar, Murky Waters: Revisiting Statute of Limitations in Professional Negligence Actions in Nevada, Nev. Law., July 2024, at 19.
• Emily D. Anderson, Medical Malpractice or Ordinary Negligence: Why the Distinction is Crucial, Nev. Law., Jan. 2020, at 30.
• Alia A. Najjar, Five Things To Know About Professional Negligence/Medical Malpractice Actions In Nevada, Communique, Jan. 5, 2024, https://clarkcountybar.org/five-things-to-know-about-professional-negligence-medical-malpractice-actions-in-nevada/.

Probate and Estate Law

• Clayton R. Leonard, Updating Out-of-State Estate Plans in Nevada, Nev. Law., Jan. 2024, at 17.
• Michaelle D. Rafferty, Decanting & Fiduciary Risk: Just Because You Can, Does Not Mean You Should, Nev. Law., Nov. 2022, at 8.
• Edmund Gorman, Where There's a (Pour-Over) Will, There's a Way: Nevada's New Approach to Avoiding Probate with Revocable Trusts, Nev. Law., Nov. 2022, at 14.
• Alexander G. Leveque, Parentage and Probate: Which Court Has Jurisdiction to Determine Heirship in Trust Proceedings?, Nev. Law., Nov. 2022, at 18.
• Brian Steadman, Five Things to Know about Trusts, Communique, Jan. 5, 2024, https://clarkcountybar.org/five-things-to-know-about-trusts/.

Employment Law

• Matthew Durham & Chad Olsen, Avoiding Legal Landmines When Hiring and Firing, Nev. Law., July 2022, at 8.
• Matthew Cecil, Tyson Horrocks & Dora Lane, Obligations and Risks When Conducting Layoffs, Nev. Law., July 2022, at 17.
• Homero A. Gonzalez, Navigating Nevada's Workers' Compensation System, Nev. Law., July 2020, at 16.
• Scott Abbott & Kaitlin Paxton, Committed to Diversity: Using Hiring Preferences Cautiously, Nev. Law., July 2022, at 21.
• Mark Ricciardi & Brian Bradford, Time to Lawyer Up? When to Consult with Labor/Employment Counsel, Nev. Law., Mar. 2020, at 21.

Other Courts

• C.J. Jerry Wiese, Specialty Courts: A Catalyst for Positive Change, Nev. Law., Mar. 2024, at 8.
• Senior Judge Deborah E. Schumacher, Treatment Courts: A Road to Recovery, Nev. Law., Mar. 2024, at 12.
• Steven Silva, Nevada's Secret Appellate Court, Nev. Law., June 2021, at 13.

Miscellaneous 

• Morgan F. Shah, Developments in Landlord-Tenant Law, Communique, Aug. 4, 2023, https://clarkcountybar.org/developments-in-landlord-tenant-law/.
• Krisanne S. Cunningham, A Summary of Common Tax-Favorable Types of Incentive Equity: Corporations and Partnerships/LLCs, Nev. Law., Dec. 2021, at 8.
• Phil Aurbach, How Deeds of Trust Work, Nev. Law., Dec. 2021, 11.
• Gregory H. King, Protecting Yourself From Your Insurance Company's Reimbursement Demand, Nev. Law., Nov. 2021, at 8. 
• C.J. Cynthia Cruz, Navigating Traffic Cases, Communique, Feb. 29, 2024, https://clarkcountybar.org/navigating-traffic-cases/.
• Amanda Stevens & Whitney Short, Health Care Power of Attorneys and Living Wills, Communique, Sept. 26, 2024, https://clarkcountybar.org/health-care-power-of-attorneys-and-living-wills/.
• Josh Hicks, Litigating the Constitutional Right to File an Initiative Petition, Nev. Law., Oct. 2024, at 20.

See also Family Law Nevada Expert Guidance

The Nevada Supreme Court Law Library made several Research Guides to help people find legal information. These guides are useful for anyone, including people who represent themselves in court. They cover things like finding Nevada laws, searching for Nevada court cases, and learning about administrative regulations.

Need help locating a Research Guide?

Need help locating additional resources?

Need assistance with an eBook or Online Resource? Please contact the Reference Desk.

Don't have a library card? Register for an account/barcode.

Wex

Wex is a free online dictionary and encyclopedia about legal terms. It’s made and edited by legal experts and is hosted by the Legal Information Institute (LII) at Cornell Law School. 

Nolo’s Free Dictionary of Law Terms and Legal Definitions

Nolo’s Plain-English Law Dictionary helps you understand legal words by giving simple definitions that are easy to read.

The People’s Law Dictionary

The People’s Law Dictionary explains legal words in a way that’s easy to understand. It provides simple definitions, real-life examples, pronunciation tips, and related terms.

The Law Dictionary

TheLawDictionary.org has Black’s Law Dictionary, 2nd edition, which is free to use. It includes over 15,000 legal terms. The most current edition is the 12th edition (2024) and can be found in print or online via Westlaw at the Supreme Court of Nevada Law Library.

American Jurisprudence 2d (Am. Jur, 2d)

This resource lists over 400 legal topics in alphabetical order. Many law libraries have a complete copy of Am. Jur. 2d in their Reference Collections. It’s also available online on Lexis and Westlaw and at the Supreme Court of Nevada Law Library.

Corpus Juris Secundum (C.J.S.)

C.J.S. is a national legal encyclopedia that covers legal topics from A to Z. It summarizes general rules of law and provides detailed explanations. You can find C.J.S. in many law libraries and online on Westlaw, including at the Supreme Court of Nevada Law Library.

Nevada Courtroom Terminology

This resource includes terms used in Nevada courts, including family law, juvenile court, and record keeping. It also includes Latin and other foreign-language terms.

Common Legal Terms

Educational resource (English and Spanish) of commonly used legal terms in the judicial system created by the Iowa Judicial Branch.

The Law Library has a collection of self-help materials in both print and digital formats for people who are handling legal matters on their own, including:

Nolo Self-Help Publications

Select the link above to see the Law Library's collection of Nolo's "do-it-yourself" books. These books explain legal processes in plain English and may include sample legal forms.

Topics include:

• Divorce & Custody
• Family Law
• Business Law, Employment Law & Human Resources
• Immigration
• Intellectual Property
• Housing & Home Ownership
• Bankruptcy & Consumer Credit
• Probates, Estates, & Trusts
• Social Security & Elder Law
• And more!

Nolo also has a searchable library of legal articles, including some that are specific to Nevada. 

These resources are available onsite at the Supreme Court of Nevada Law Library's Carson City location!

Blomberg Law Answers

• Do you need assistance in identifying cases and statutes related to your legal issue? Enter your question into the search box and Bloomberg Law Answers will locate relevant resources for you.

Summarize Document

• Case: Provides a summary explaining the result and whether the case is still good law (e.g., has it been overturned).
• Statute: Explains the subject of the statute and if the statute has been changed (i.e., amended).
• Secondary Source: Creates a summary of the source and helps patrons focus on the most relevant issue by providing follow-up prompts.

Westlaw Precision

Parallel Search

• Not sure which legal term to use? Enter your search using conversational language, and parallel search can find similar words and identify relationships between words or ideas, even when the exact search terms are not entered.
• You can skim through the results to find cases with similar facts and learn how other courts have thought about that legal issue.

Lexis+ AI

Brief Analysis

• Do you want to find additional legal authorities to strengthen the arguments in your legal brief? Upload a brief to Lexis+ and Lexis+ AI will identify the legal concepts mentioned in the brief and recommend other concepts that may strengthen your argument.
• The brief will be cite checked for good law and correct quotes.
• The jurisdiction feature analyzes citations and identifies them as binding, persuasive, or hallucinated (i.e., fake).