The Nevada Supreme Court Law Library has over 100,000 volumes or volume equivalents consisting of primary and secondary authority. The Law Library’s most comprehensive collection focuses on Nevada law. The Library has current and archival collections of all state statutes and case law, as well as a core collection of treatises. The Law Library also has a rare book room containing very old books from the United States (including pre-statehood materials) as well as international materials.
The Southwest section of the Library contains the Treatise Collection
To the left of our Reference Desk, you can find our collection of Regional and Federal Reporters
The library serves the Supreme Court, the Legislature, the Office of the Attorney General and other executive branch agencies, as well as the local bar and the general public. You can can borrow up to 10 items at a time for two weeks, there will be one automatic renewal allowed for each.
Items from the collection can also be borrowed using interlibrary loan. Please contact your local public or college library for more information on interlibrary loan services.
The NSCLL has an online catalog to assist you in locating specific books in our collection. The catalog is also helpful in identifying LexisNexis Digital Library e-books and electronic resources available in HeinOnline, PLI Plus, and VitalLaw (access to these latter resources is limited to in-library use only).
A large part of the NSCLL's collection is available in microfilm or microfiche format.
The Law Library houses a collection of microfilm for the Nevada Supreme Court Clerk's office, which covers court cases from 1 - 34561. Documents included on microfilm include case opinions, briefs, and exhibits. Many of the cases on film are not currently digitized through the Nevada Supreme Court Case Management system. Please ask a staff member at the Reference Desk for assistance.
The Law Library also maintains a collection of microfiche. The microfiche contains bill histories, committee minutes and exhibits from the Nevada Legislative sessions from 1965 - 2005. The microfiche is separated by year (sessions run every odd year with possible special sessions in between) and are then arranged alphabetically by Assembly and Senate committees.
If you would like documents that may be on microfilm or microfiche, please contact the NSC Law Library by email at firstname.lastname@example.org or by phone at 775-684-1640 and a staff member will be available to pull the requested film or fiche for you for use in the Law Library.
Law Library staff members can scan and email documents of 10 pages (double-sided) if you provide specific information for what you are looking for. For larger requests, the Law Library will charge a research and printing fee of $0.25 per page for microfilm/microfiche document delivery requests.
The microfilm/microfiche reader is free to access and use in the Law Library. Please ask a staff member at the Reference Desk for assistance in how to use the machine.
The Law Library maintains a collection of self-help materials for patrons who are navigating the legal system on their own.
Resources that the Law Library provides include:
Estos folletos también están disponibles en español.: